Microsoft Azure DevOps – Deleting and Recovering Projects

Hi All,

LIFE IS Beautiful 🙂 I hope we all are safe 🙂 STAY SAFE, STAY HEALTHY,  STAY HOME 🙂

Background: We have started discussing Azure DevOps. In last six articles of Azure DevOps we discussed

In this article we will move ahead and will discuss deletion option for Microsoft Azure DevOps Projects and how to recover it.

Take away from this article: At the end of this article we will got to know about

  • How to delete Microsoft Azure DevOps project
  • Permissions required for deleting Microsoft DevOps project
  • Recovering deleted project

Prerequisites :

  • We must have an organization in Azure DevOps.
  • User must be a member of the Project Collection Administrators group or an organization owner or “Delete team project” permission must be “Allowed
  • Delete team project permission set to Allow.

Projects are permanently deleted if not restored in 28 days

How to check if Delete team project permission set to Allow or not:

  • We could check the “Delete team project” permission from project settings page – https://dev.azure.com/<organization name>/<project name>/_settings/projectOverview
  • Navigate to “Project” for which we need to check the permissions
  • From left pane at bottom side, click on “Project settings” link as
Azure DevOps - Project Settings
Fig : Azure DevOps – Project Settings
  • Click on “Project settings” link, we will be redirected to “Project settings page – https://dev.azure.com/<organization name>/<project name>/_settings/projectOverview
  • From “Project settings” page, from left pane click on “Permission” link as shown in below fig, we will be redirected to project permissions page – as https://dev.azure.com/<organization name>/<project name>/_settings/permissions
Azure DevOps - Project Settings - Permissions - Users
Fig : Azure DevOps – Project Settings – Permissions – Users tab
  • On permissions page, there are two tabs – Groups and Users
  • Navigate to Users tab, there we will have all the users who have project permissions
  • Select the user for which we need to check the permissions as shown in above fig
  • Once we clicked on user, we will be redirected to Permission properties as shown in below fig, under “Permissions” tab there will be all permissions and respective values
Azure DevOps - Project Settings - Permissions - Users tab - Verifying the users permission
Fig : Azure DevOps – Project Settings – Permissions – Users tab – Verifying the users permission
  • We can update the respective values for respective permissions.

How to delete Azure DevOps Organization :

  • We have two options available for deleting Azure DevOps projects.
    • From Project Settings page
    • From Organization settings page
  • As discussed in previous articles, from Project Settings Overview page – https://dev.azure.com/<organization name>/<project name>/_settings – we could delete the project as shown in below fig
Azure DevOps - Project Settings - Delete Project option
Fig : Azure DevOps – Project Settings – Delete Project option
Azure DevOps - Project Settings - Delete Project option
Fig : Azure DevOps – Organization home page – Organization settings option
  • Click on “Organization settings” link from left pane at bottom as shown in above Fig
  • We will be redirected to Organization settings page – https://dev.azure.com/<organization name>/_settings/projects/ as
  • From organization settings page, from left pane click on “Projects
Azure DevOps - Organization home page - Organization settings  - Selected "Project" option from the left pane
Fig : Azure DevOps – Organization home page – Organization settings – Selected “Projects” option from the left pane
  • As per rights we have our projects listings there. We could select individual projects and from right hand side we have “Delete” option.
  • When we click on “Delete” either from any option we will have “Delete Project” prompt as
 Azure DevOps - Deleting project - Delete project dialog
Fig : Azure DevOps – Deleting project – Delete project dialog
  • To confirm delete project we need to enter our project name in text box “Type project name” as shown in above fig
  • Once we have entered the project name, “Delete” button get enabled as
Azure DevOps - Deleting project - Delete project dialog - Entering project name - "Delete" button get enabled
Fig : Azure DevOps – Deleting project – Delete project dialog – Entering project name – “Delete” button get enabled
  • On clicking on “Delete: button in “Delete project” dialog, project will be successfully deleted.
  • We can verify this either from Organization setting page or Organization home page as
Fig : Azure DevOps - Organization home page - project "Knowledge Junction Intranet" get deleted. Now there is only one project.
Fig : Azure DevOps – Organization home page – project “Knowledge Junction Intranet” get deleted. Now there is only one project.
Fig : Azure DevOps – Organization setting page – Projects – project “Knowledge Junction Intranet” get deleted. Now there is only one project.
  • We could view the recently deleted projects by clicking on link “View recently deleted projects” link present on Organization project settings page as shown in above Fig as
Azure DevOps - Organization setting page - Projects - Recently deleted projects
Fig : Azure DevOps – Organization setting page – Projects – Recently deleted projects

Recovering / Restoring deleted project :

  • We can recover / restore deleted project by two ways :
    • From Web – This approach we will discuss now
    • REST API – We will discuss Azure DevOps REST APIs in upcoming articles
  • Recovering / Restoring deleted project from the web :
    • From the Organization settings page >> Projects >> Recently deleted projects – we have “Restore Projects” option available as shown in below Fig
Azure DevOps - Organization setting page - Projects - Recently deleted projects - "Restore Projects" option
Fig : Azure DevOps – Organization setting page – Projects – Recently deleted projects – “Restore Projects” option
  • We need to select the project form the deleted projects list and click on “Restore Projects” button on the right top corner as shown in above fig
  • Once we clicked on “Restore Projects” button, project get restored, removed from “Deleted projects list
  • We could see the restored project again from project listing page from Organization settings page or from Organization home page as in below figures
Azure DevOps - Organization setting page - Projects - Restored project
Fig : Azure DevOps – Organization setting page – Projects – Restored project
Azure DevOps - Organization home page - Projects - Restored project
Fig : Azure DevOps – Organization home page – Projects – Restored project

References:

Next Article : We will discuss few Azure CLI commands for Organization and Project settings

We have very good series going on Azure DevOps. Please have a look once – https://knowledge-junction.com/?s=Azure+DevOps

Thanks for reading 🙂 Feel free to discuss / comment / questions. SHARING IS CARING 🙂

Share In Teams:

Enjoy the beautiful life 🙂 Have a FUN 🙂 HAVE A SAFE LIFE 🙂 TAKE CARE 🙂

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.