Microsoft Azure DevOps – Project settings
LIFE IS BEAUTIFUL 🙂 I hope we all are safe 🙂 STAY SAFE, STAY HEALTHY, STAY HOME 🙂
Background: We have started discussing Azure DevOps. In last five articles of Azure DevOps we discussed
- Introductory part of Azure DevOps
- Organizations in Azure DevOps
- Microsoft Azure DevOps – Deleting and Recovering Organization
- Microsoft Azure DevOps – Projects
- Microsoft Azure DevOps – Types of Projects
In this article we will move ahead and will discuss important settings of Microsoft Azure DevOps Projects.
Take away from this article: At the end of this article we will got to know about few important settings of Azure DevOps project
- Renaming a project
- Enabling / Disabling Azure DevOps services
- Changing project visibility
- We must have an organization in Azure DevOps.
- User must be a member of the Project Collection Administrators group or an organization owner.
Project Settings : From project home page or summary page – https://dev.azure.com/<organization name>/<Project name> we can have “Project settings” option as
- Once we click on “Project settings” link, we will be redirected to “Project settings – overview” page –https://dev.azure.com//
/ /_settings/projectOverview”> https://dev.azure.com//<organization name>/<Project name>/_settings/projectOverview here in our case – https://dev.azure.com/prashamsabadra/Knowledge%20Junction%20Intranet/_settings/projectOverview
- Renaming project :
- We could rename the project by changing Name of the project – first option on the setting overview page as shown in above Fig
- When we rename a project
- It updates all version control paths, work items, queries and project artifacts.
- When we rename a project, email notification is send to all users if there are less than 1000 users.
- In case there are more than 1000 users then email notification is send only to Project Administrators
- Team members need to restart their respective clients to reflect the new project name.
- Turn a service on or off :
- We could turn on / off Azure DevOps services for the project from overview settings page as shown in above Fig
- When we turn off any given service, we have confirmation dialog – “Remove service” as shown in below Fig – here we are turning off “Pipelines” service
- Once we click on “Remove Pipelines” button as shown in above fig, respective service will be turned off.
- Refresh the page. Respective service will be hidden from the page, “Pipelines” settings option will be removed from the page as shown in below fig
- Changing project visibility :
- We could change the project visibility from Private to Public or Public to Private
- We have an setting on project setting overview page as
- By default, current visibility of the project is selected as shown in above Fig
- Please note that we will not see above option if “Allow public projects” organization level setting is not turned off as
- So make sure that this organization level setting “Allow public projects” is turned on if we want to change the project visibility from “Private” to “Public”.
We will stop here. In next upcoming article we will discuss some more important settings for Azure DevOps organization and project
We have very good series going on Azure DevOps. Please have a look once – https://knowledge-junction.com/?s=Azure+DevOps
- Rename a project in Azure DevOps
- Turn a service on or off
- Change the project visibility, public or private
Thanks for reading 🙂 Feel free to discuss / comment / questions. SHARING IS CARING 🙂Share In Teams:
Enjoy the beautiful life 🙂 Have a FUN 🙂 HAVE A SAFE LIFE 🙂 TAKE CARE 🙂